English Français
facebook page twitter page instagram page youtube page



A Global Footprint

• The Laureus World Sports Awards is the premier global sports awards honouring the greatest sportsmen and women across all sports each year.

• In 2016, Berlin was the tenth city to host the Awards Ceremony – after Monaco, Estoril/Lisbon, Barcelona, St.Petersburg, Abu Dhabi, London, Rio de Janeiro, Kuala Lumpur and Shanghai

• The Awards Ceremony is broadcast in 160 countries and territories

• Athletes from over 50 countries and 55 sports have been nominated for Laureus Awards

• In 2017, sports fans around the world voted for the first time ever in a global online poll for the Laureus Best Sporting Moment of the Year Award, which recognises an event that transcended sport in the past 12 months. With a shortlist selected by the Laureus World Sports Academy, it could be a moment of drama that captured the power of sport or it could be a simple memory that touched the hearts of millions.

Laureus World Map

B gate.jpg


Our Roots

• The guest of honour at the first Awards Ceremony in Monaco in 2000 was President Nelson Mandela who said: “Sport has the power to change the world”.

• The Laureus World Sports Academy, who vote for the winners, have accumulated over 80 Olympic and Paralympic gold medals in their careers.

• Laureus was founded by its Patrons Richemont and Daimler and is supported by its Global Partners Mercedes-Benz and IWC Schaffhausen.

• Laureus is the Latin word for laurel – the universal symbol for victory in sport.

Nelson Mandela

The Prize

• Each winner receives the unique Laureus Statuette specially crafted by Cartier with its representation of the striving human form. The statuettes are 30cms high and weigh 2.5kgs. Each figure contains 670g of solid silver with a 650g gold finish base.

Statuette normal1.jpg

Hall of Fame

• Tennis legend Roger Federer, athletics icon Usain Bolt and surfer Kelly Slater share the record as four-time Laureus Award winners

• Most nominated athlete is Serena Williams who has been shortlisted nine times and won three Laureus Awards

• US golfer Tiger Woods has won two Laureus Awards and been nominated eight times

• Among the football stars honoured with the Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award have been Pele, Johan Cruyff, Bobby Charlton and Zinedine Zidane




federer 4.jpg
sean connery.jpg


Glamour & Entertainment

• Awards Ceremony hosts have included Morgan Freeman, Gwyneth Paltrow, Jeff Bridges, Eva Longoria, Kevin Spacey,  Benedict Cumberbatch, Bill Murray and Hugh Grant

• David and Victoria Beckham, Michael Douglas and Catherine Zeta-Jones, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Jamie Foxx and Henry Cavill have attended as guests

• Rock band Bon Jovi played at the first Awards Ceremony in Monaco in 2000

• F1 star David Coulthard became James Bond’s chauffeur in Monaco in 2002, driving Sean Connery to the Awards Ceremony

• In Shanghai 2015, Show Host Benedict Cumberbatch played table tennis star Yaping Deng – who used a wooden spoon

• Show Host Hugh Grant treated the audience to some classic British humour at the 2017 Laureus Awards in Monaco